The 2010 Locus Awards for SF Gives Away More Than an Olive Branch

by Sci-Fi Man on June 28, 2010

A night of drum rolls, so to speak, graced the Locus Awards for Science Fiction as each winner in the fifteen categories were awarded their certificates and plaques. The awarding ceremony is held annually by the Locus Magazine at Seattle’s Science Fiction Museum. Winners are chosen through a readers’ recommendation poll. Although readers can vote for any science work published within the previous year, Locus Magazine publishes its own “recommended reading list” on its yearly February issue.

The Locus Awards is actually a preparation of sorts for the Hugo Awards and the Nebula awards. Surprisingly though, it has drawn more voters than the Hugo and the Nebula Awards combined. Aside from the commendations that authors receive from their winning works, publishers also get a sliver of the limelight through the certificates that the Locus Magazine awards them with.

I look forward to these lists as I can hardly keep up with every scifi magazine or book published, and end up buying en masse selections based on nominations and winners.

This year’s winners had a few Locus Awards Winners veterans and several up and coming science fiction writers. So to let you take part of the excitement, too, these year’s winners are (let’s not forget the dramatic drum roll here):

Best SF Novel

Boneshaker, Cherie Priest (Tor)

also nominated were:
The Empress of Mars, Kage Baker (Subterranean; Tor)
Steal Across the Sky, Nancy Kress (Tor)
Galileo’s Dream, Kim Stanley Robinson (HarperVoyager; Ballantine Spectra)
Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America, Robert Charles Wilson (Tor)

Best Fantasy Novel

The City & The City, China Miéville (Del Rey; Macmillan UK)

also nominated were:
Unseen Academicals, Terry Pratchett (Harper; Doubleday UK)
Drood, Dan Simmons (Little, Brown)
Palimpsest, Catherynne M. Valente (Bantam Spectra)
Finch, Jeff VanderMeer (Underland)

Best First Novel

The Windup Girl, Paolo Bacigalupi (Night Shade)

also nominated were:
The Manual of Detection, Jedediah Berry (Penguin)
Soulless, Gail Carriger (Orbit US)
Lamentation, Ken Scholes (Tor)
Norse Code, Greg van Eekhout (Ballantine Spectra)

Best Young Adult Book

Leviathan, Scott Westerfeld (Simon Pulse; Simon & Schuster UK)

also nominated were:
The Hotel Under the Sand, Kage Baker (Tachyon)
Going Bovine, Libba Bray (Delacorte)
Catching Fire, Suzanne Collins (Scholastic; Scholastic UK)
Liar, Justine Larbalestier (Bloomsbury; Allen & Unwin Australia)

Best Novella

The Women of Nell Gwynne’s, Kage Baker (Subterranean)

also nominated were:
“Act One,” Nancy Kress (Asimov’s)
“Vishnu at the Cat Circus,” Ian McDonald (Cyberabad Days)
Shambling Towards Hiroshima, James Morrow (Tachyon)
“Palimpsest,” Charles Stross (Wireless)

Best Novelette

‘‘By Moonlight’’, Peter S. Beagle (We Never Talk About My Brother)

also nominated were:
“It Takes Two,” Nicola Griffith (Eclipse Three)
“First Flight,” Mary Robinette Kowal (
“Eros, Philia, Agape,” Rachel Swirsky (
“The Island,” Peter Watts (The New Space Opera 2)

Best Short Story

‘‘An Invocation of Incuriosity’’, Neil Gaiman (Songs of the Dying Earth)

also nominated were:
“The Pelican Bar,” Karen Joy Fowler (Eclipse Three)
“Spar,” Kij Johnson (Clarkesworld)
“Going Deep,” James Patrick Kelly (Asimov’s)
“Useless Things,” Maureen F. McHugh (Eclipse Three)

Best Anthology

The New Space Opera 2, Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan, eds. (Eos; HarperCollins Australia)

also nominated were:
Lovecraft Unbound, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Dark Horse)
The Year’s Best Science Fiction: Twenty-Sixth Annual Collection, Gardner Dozois, ed. (St. Martin’s)
Songs of the Dying Earth: Stories in Honor of Jack Vance, George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, eds. (Subterranean)
Eclipse Three, Jonathan Strahan, ed. (Night Shade)

Best Collection

The Best of Gene Wolfe, Gene Wolfe (Tor); as The Very Best of Gene Wolfe (PS)

also nominated were:
We Never Talk About My Brother, Peter S. Beagle (Tachyon)
Cyberabad Days, Ian McDonald (Pyr)
Wireless, Charles Stross (Ace, Orbit UK)
The Collected Stories of Roger Zelazny: Volumes 1-6, Roger Zelazny (NESFA)

Best Non-Fiction Book/Art Book

Cheek by Jowl, Ursula K. Le Guin (Aqueduct)

also nominated were:
Powers: Secret Histories, John Berlyne (PS)
Spectrum 16: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art, Cathy & Arnie Fenner, eds. (Underwood)
This is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Properly, This is “I”), Jack Vance (Subterranean)
Drawing Down the Moon: The Art of Charles Vess, Charles Vess (Dark Horse)

Best Artist

Michael Whelan

also nominated were:
Stephan Martinière
John Picacio
Shaun Tan
Charles Vess

Best Editor:

Ellen Datlow

also nominated were:
Gardner Dozois
David G. Hartwell
Jonathan Strahan
Gordon Van Gelder

Best Magazine

The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction

also nominated were:

Best Book Publisher


also nominated were:
Night Shade

Locus Awards 2010 winners’ collection will surely make its way to your well worth it book and ebook collection. So take out those ebook readers and tablet PCs and head for Amazon; it will be ready to be downloaded with just a few clicks. But if you’re the traditional crisp pages to dog-eared book reader, it will surely arrive at your doorstep, too.

For those of you who have read these, you may want to check out Anticipated Books in Scifi for 2010 over at Cybermage.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: